FODMAP update and flaxseed bread

Yesterday, walking around the supermarket, I nearly cracked.

So much food I still can’t eat! I contemplated, albeit fleetingly, the thought of giving the whole re-introduction phase up and skipping straight ahead to just eating everything again, however rubbishy doing so might make me feel.

But then I have put a lot of time and effort into doing the elimination phase properly as well as having been an absolute pain for anyone trying to cook for me, that it does make throwing it all away now seem like a very weak and foolish thing to do. And after all, there isn’t that much longer left to go. I am getting closer to the end of it all and slowly crossing the foods off my ‘to challenge’ list.

I have to hang on in there!

Flaxseed loaf I have discovered that onions and my digestive system may not be the best of friends….hello three-months pregnant looking stomach, it’s been a while since I saw you last!

As for garlic, I think we may be good. The first two days were fine, but I had a bit of an upset stomach on the final day of testing, which I don’t think was garlic related, so I’m still unsure on that count.

Flaxseed loaf_2

But the good news is, wheat, when I tested it, seemed not to cause any noticeable symptoms, meaning I may, when all this is over, be able to go back to my usual baking with wheat flour. This excites me like you wouldn’t believe. Although I guess, the thought of cooking or baking anything right now excites me. As I’m still on work experience in London, I’m getting home pretty late and having to go to bed early if there’s going to be any hope of me dragging myself out of bed for half five in the morning. That really isn’t leaving any time  for baking. I also have some incredibly generous hosts/boyfriend’s parents, who are cooking me all my meals for when I get in, which means cooking, this week, has amounted to making porridge, (a banana/peanut butter combo is a current favourite) making sandwiches (I am getting suitably tired of sandwiches, especially gluten-free bread sandwiches!) and scrambling a couple of eggs. I am painfully cooking-deprived! But even if I could cook, with the work I have to do outside of work (writing magazine articles and a personal statement – surely the most painful thing to have to write in the world!?) I am simply too exhausted to cook anyway.

IMG_0043

But if I did have the time and energy to bake right now, I would definitely have made at least one flaxseed loaf – by far the nicest tasting gluten free loaf I’ve attempted so far. I got the feeling it might be a good one the moment I took the loaf out of the oven and caught a waft of its wonderful toasty smell. It has a lovely nutty, slightly sweet flavour, which works brilliantly up against a generous slick of salted butter, and definitely ought to be tried with cheese, especially something tangy, or salty. Mouldy is also a good pairing too!

Flaxseed loaf _4

The recipe for this loaf is ever so slightly adapted from Pippa Kendrick’s The Intolerant Gourmet, a cookbook I have possibly cooked more recipes from than any other of my many many cookbooks. I’ve praised this book before, but if you’ll indulge me one more time, while not geared to the a low FODMAP diet, it really is a brilliant book if you’re looking for decent wheat free recipes, as well as egg and dairy free.

Flaxseed Bread (gluten-free and FODMAP friendly, can be made dairy free) adapted from The Intolerant Gourmet

To make dairy free, substitute the butter for dairy-free spread and the milk for rice milk

Makes 1 small (450g) loaf

  • 235ml milk
  • 1tbsp lemon juice
  • 250g gluten-free white bread flour mix (I use the Dove’s Farm one)
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 25g caster sugar
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp ground flaxseeds
  • pinch salt
  • 40g butter, cut into small cubes
  1. Preheat the oven to 200ºC and dust a 450g loaf tin with flour.
  2. Make the soured milk by adding the lemon juice to the milk in a jug and allowing to stand for 10 minutes.
  3. In a large bowl, mix together the flour, bicarb, sugar, baking powder, flaxseeds and salt.
  4. Rub the cubes of butter into the flour mix with your fingertips until it resembles breadcrumbs.
  5. Pour the soured milk over mix and stir with a wooden spoon until well combined.
  6. Tip the mix into the tin and smooth down with a spoon.
  7. Bake in the oven for 40 minutes until golden brown.
  8. Remove the loaf from its tin then return to the oven for a further 10 minutes.
  9. Allow to cool on a wire rack before serving
Leave a Reply

