I ate toast!…and so begins the FODMAP reintroduction

Yesterday I ate half a slice of toast for breakfast. This morning I ate a whole slice. Tomorrow (provided I don’t get any horrible symptom flare-ups), I will eat two slices of
toast.

I am almost beside myself with excitement! (and that wasn’t sarcasm).

Quite simply, happiness on a plate.

Over the last eight weeks, I had pretty much managed to forget the wonders of toast…crispy outside, fluffy inside, spread with butter and jam. Eating toast this morning brought back memories of the weekend breakfast ritual I developed during my final year at uni. It was simple. It involved two slices of toast, one spread with jam, one with marmalade, a cup of tea, and a magazine.  As part of the ritual, I had to cut each slice in half and then eat the pieces in an alternating fashion…marmalade, jam, marmalade, jam. Some may consider this slightly OCDish, to me it was just comforting.

marzipan biscuits

Marzipan cookies…I find this skiing snowman so cute, I couldn’t resist including him in a photo!

So far, I seem to be managing this wheat re-introduction ok and my fingers are incredibly tightly crossed that wheat proves not to be too much of a problem food.  At the start, eight weeks seemed like a very long time. But it’s passed pretty quickly, relatively painlessly and I’m excited – if you can call it that, perhaps interested is more the word – to see which foods prove to be the most problematic.

Possibly my favourite Christmas snack we had around the house this year...melt chocolate, stir in goodies, spread on baking paper, sprinkle over more goodies, allow to set...The dark chocolate version contains stem ginger, brazil nuts and coconut, the white chocolate version contains dried cranberries and poppy seeds. No matter how much I ate in an attempt to find out, I couldn't decide which I preferred.

Possibly my favourite Christmas snack we had around the house this year…melt chocolate, stir in goodies, spread on baking paper, sprinkle over more goodies, allow to set…The dark chocolate version contains stem ginger, brazil nuts and coconut. The white chocolate version contains dried cranberries and poppy seeds. No matter how much I ate in an attempt to find out, I couldn’t decide which I preferred!

One thing I’d stressed about when I first started on the FODMAP diet was how much it would spoil Christmas. But honestly, that hasn’t been the case at all. Yes, I had to put the extra work in to make onion free stock for gravy, forgo the sprouts and not rely on any shop-bought mince pies, cake, desserts, biscuits and bake everything myself…but, unsurprisingly, I didn’t mind the cooking! And I found there were more than enough things that I could eat to leave me feeling suitably feasted!

Christmas eve breakfast...Wheat-free Christmas pancakes, based on this recipe here, subbing the banana for 4 generous tbsp mincemeat (my FODMAP friendly version) and adding plenty of cinnamon and mixed spice to the batter. I then added to the indulgence with a dollop (can I justify my actions if I include the word 'modest'?!) of thick, whisky and ginger spiked cream! It was beautiful...

Christmas eve breakfast…Wheat-free Christmas pancakes, based on this recipe here, subbing the banana for 4 generous tbsp mincemeat (my FODMAP friendly version) and adding plenty of cinnamon and mixed spice to the batter. I then added to the indulgence with a dollop (can I justify my actions if I include the word ‘modest’?!) of thick, whisky and ginger spiked cream! It was, simply, wonderful…

And the beauty of it all?….I could feast until I felt full, very full, and although it was a little uncomfortable, keeping my FODMAPs low spared me from full blown bloated, constipated (sorry) pain. And not being hideously bloated meant, to my great joy, that I could always find room for just a morsel more chocolate/ cake/ cheese…I even managed to find room for a second plateful of Christmas dinner that was almost as big as the first…This, friends, – while painting me out to be about as greedy as can be – is pretty major. Not that it’s exactly anything to be proud of, but it’s just that I haven’t been able to eat such considerable quantities of food, without painful consequences, in such a long time.

Breakfast on Christmas morning was inspired by the ever wonderful Nigel Slater and his christmas granola recipe, topped with thick yoghurt and warmed mincemeat

Breakfast on Christmas morning was inspired by the ever wonderful Nigel Slater and his Christmas granola recipe, topped with thick yoghurt and warmed mincemeat.

I hope you all had a brilliant Christmas too!

3 thoughts on “I ate toast!…and so begins the FODMAP reintroduction

Leave a Reply

