Carrot cake in breakfast form

When I first came across the idea for carrot cake porridge over on Oh She Glows, I wanted to give it a go right away. Only, as with so many recipes I discover and desperately want to try, I failed to get round to making it. So many recipes, so little time to try them all! Does anyone else ever have moments when they feel totally overwhelmed by the masses and masses of recipes out there all begging to be tried? Or is that just me?

When Emily from Emily Cooks Vegan posted about carrot cake porridge months after I’d first spied the recipe on Oh She Glows, she reminded me how badly I wanted to try it out. The concept intrigued me. Warm comforting porridge full of carrot cake flavour. With my love for warm, creamy and comforting food being what it is, the idea of carrot cake porridge almost seemed better than carrot cake itself (almost).

Finally I got round to giving it a go this morning. However, I have a horrible cold and my taste buds are totally off key, so I couldn’t fully appreciate the flavours. I could just about taste the soft, warming spices and gentle sweetness, which, I imagine, had I been able to taste them fully, would have been totally delicious. My mum, who surprised me with her willingness to sample this unusual breakfast, and whose taste buds are in much better shape than mine, claimed it to taste brilliant. And it didn’t taste overly carroty, which I think she was afraid of. Instead, the carrots added a natural sweetness rather than anything too vegetable tasting.

Texture wise (which I could assess far better than taste) the porridge was just how I like it, the carrots helping everything stay soft and creamy without getting too dense and bulky.

Carrot cake porridge – serves 2
(Adapted from Oh She Glows and Emily Cooks Vegan)

  • 50g porridge oats
  • 125ml milk
  • 125ml water, plus extra if needed
  • large carrot, finely grated
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • good pinch of ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 40g raisins
  • 2 tsp maple syrup, or more to taste
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 25g walnuts, chopped
  1. Place the oats, milk, 125ml water, grated carrot, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and most of the raisins in a saucepan over a medium heat. Bring to a very gentle simmer and continue to cook for about 8 minutes, stirring frequently, until the mix is thick and creamy. Add a little extra water if you feel the mix needs loosening out slightly.
  2. Stir in the vanilla, maple syrup and about half the walnuts.
  3. Divide the porridge between two bowls (or have a massive bowlful to yourself, it’s tasty enough, and mostly carrot!) and sprinkle over the remaining raisins and walnuts. Drizzle over a little extra maple syrup if liked.

6 thoughts on “Carrot cake in breakfast form

    • It’s only as sweet as you make it really…just add as much maple syrup/sugar at the end as you fancy… It wouldn’t be any sweeter than your porridge and golden syrup. Would also be a great snack too though, or dessert…its just fab generally, I shall make you some! 🙂 xx

  1. I’m definitely the same, my list of recipes to try has dominated my ‘favourites’ on my web browser! I had been wanting to make a carrot cake porridge for along time too, and finally made one the other day too! I lovee all the spices in it 🙂

  2. It is not just you! I’ve been meaning to go through all of my cookbooks to compile the ‘ultimate list’ of recipes to make, but I already have so many recipes on my to-do list that it’s quite an intimidating task! x

Leave a Reply

