Peanut and chocolate cookies

I made these cookies about a month ago before uni work completely took over my life and they are now a rather vague and distant memory. However,  what I do remember very clearly is crisp edges and a gooey-chewy centre, vital components of any good cookie in my opinion. (I’m writing this at 8am,  just after breakfast, but thinking about these cookies has ignited a phenomenal desire to re-make them. 8am isn’t too early to want a cookie is it?) As almost any baker, I am on a quest for the ‘best’ cookie recipe. The recipe used for these cookies is from delicious:days, and they definitely score very highly. These were also the first brown butter cookies I’ve ever made, which requires heating the butter until it turns a golden brown colour. I was, perhaps, a little too worried about burning the butter though, and therefore not leaving it to brown enough, as I wasn’t entirely sure I could taste the difference in the finished product. Nevertheless, they definitely still tasted amazing. I slightly altered the ingredients from those given with the delicious:days recipe as follows:

  • 150g butter
  • 50g dark and 50g milk chocolate, roughly chopped into chunks
  • 75g salted peanuts, roughly chopped
  • 150g light soft brown sugar
  • 50g granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg plus 1 yolk
  • 225g plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • generous pinch fine sea-salt

I really liked the salty peanut and chocolate mix, but can’t wait to experiment with different additions.The child in me loves Smarties cookies, but the recipe I normally use to make them can be a little temperamental at times, the weight of the Smarties causing the centre of the cookie to fall out. Maybe I need to try Smarties out in this cookie dough. Dried cranberries, white chocolate and maybe some orange zest might also make a good festive combination right now.  Would little chunks of chopped up Mars bar work?

This definitely hasn’t eased my early morning cookie craving!

One thought on “Peanut and chocolate cookies

  1. Pingback: On a cookie making mission…white chocolate and ginger cookies | Les Délices de Fleur

Leave a Reply

